What are your 7 deadly sins

What are the seven deadly sins

What are the seven deadly sins?negative habits that need to be overcome

What are the seven deadly sins

Where do these come from

The concept of the seven deadly sins ultimately comes from the Catholic Church. There was in the 4th century. the monk Evagrius of Ponthus, and he made a list of the so-called eight vices, which were then designated as the main sins. Then there was a monk named Johannes Casianus who adopted that list. Finally, Pope Gregory I, who lived in the 6th century, changed this list and formulated the seven deadly sins.

Deadly Sins and Forgiveness

These deadly sins are those that are not easily forgiven. In the Bible (Old Testament) it is said that sin results in death. That means, the soul gets problems, one will die anyway at some point, but one will not partake of the redemption. According to Christian teaching, one can repent through a life pleasing to God, fasting, etc., and through faith in Jesus' death on the cross one can then be forgiven one's sins (New Testament). The deadly sins are those that have become a bad habit. That is why they are called root sins, because from them all other unethical actions arise (main sins, cardinal sins). Sometimes they are called deadly sins not because they cannot be forgiven, but because they lead to "ethical death" - that is, to forgetting of all ethical resolutions.

The seven deadly sins

I myself am not a Catholic but come from yoga, grew up in a Protestant home, there was no talk of deadly sins, that is more something from Catholic Christianity, but it is less emphasized today. The seven deadly sins are:

1. Pride (Superbia), 2. Avaritia, 3. Envy, (invidia) 4. Anger, (Hira) 5. Lust, unchastity (Luxuria), 6. Gluttony, excess, selfishness (gula) 7. Laziness (Akedia).

Deadly Sins and Bhagavad Gita

In the Bhagavad Gita Krishna formulates the whole thing a little more simply, he says there are two gates to hell - a place where you can go with a remorse: Kama (greed) and Krodha (anger). Greed as a summary of pride, avarice, envy, lust, gluttony, together so kama. Krodha leads to anger. Then we also find in the Bhagavad GitaTamas - indolence, laziness correspond to Akredia. We could say that there are the Rajas' deadly sins, which include pride, avarice, anger, envy, lust, and to a certain extent also gluttony, and laziness as a Tamassian mortal sin. These deadly sins are considered attitude sins, so they are harder to overcome.

To hurt deadly sins

Suppose you once did something bad to someone, feel repentance, which can help you grow out of sin. But suppose you have a lot of pride, haughtiness and arrogance, then this will lead you again and again to ultimately hurting others. Assuming you are stingy, then you will not help other people, not share your wealth, even if they need it. Suppose you are jealous, then you try to be better than others, even by unlawful means. And out of anger you forget all your resolutions and can even become violent. Many people are hurt by lust, unchastity, sexual desire, marriages and families are destroyed and so much else. And also gluttony and intemperance lead to all sorts of illnesses, malaise, and laziness leads to you not changing anything about it.

In this sense, the deadly sins would be better described as negative habits to be overcome.

Video: What are the Seven Deadly Sins?

Here you can find a lecture video with the topic What are the seven deadly sins? Is there such a thing as sin at all?

Video lecture by yoga teacher Sukadev Bretz on the subject of seven deadly sins, from the field of Christianity.

More questions and answers about Christianity

Here you will find answers to further questions about Christianity:

What are the seven deadly sins? More information about the Seven Deadly Sins and Christianity

Here you can find more information about the topics Seven Deadly Sins and Christianity and some things related to What are the Seven Deadly Sins?


Yoga teacher training

May 23, 2021 - May 28, 2021 - Yoga teacher training intensive course week 1 live online
Here you will learn the basics of how to teach yoga and meditation to people as a yoga teacher. Week 1 of the 4-week yoga teacher training. You can book here if you are the yoga teacher ...
May 23, 2021 - June 4, 2021 - Yoga teacher training intensive course week 1 +2 live online
Part of the yoga teacher training. Learn how to give classes in hatha yoga etc. Week 1 and 2 of the 4-week yoga teacher training online. You can book here if you want to do yoga ...