Greed is a sin in the Bible

7 deadly sins

According to Christian tradition, the seven deadly sins are envy, gluttony, greed, lust, pride, indolence and anger. Below is a list and the meanings of the seven deadly sins.

What are the seven deadly sins?

  1. Envy / jealousy = the desire to have an item (or experience) that someone else possesses
  2. Gluttony / excessive consumption = excessive, constant consumption of food or drinks
  3. Greed = the excessive pursuit of material possessions
  4. Lust = an uncontrollable passion or longing, especially for sexual desires
  5. Arrogance / pride = the exaggerated self-perception without consideration for others
  6. Indolence / laziness = the excessive laziness or failure to act (and to use one's talents)
  7. Anger = the uncontrollable feeling of anger and hatred towards another person

The Seven Sins & the Early Church

The early Church, or the Old Testament, classified the seven deadly sins as cardinal or capital sins and taught that they could not be forgiven. According to the Bible or the New Testament, however, these 7 deadly sins are completely and completely forgivable by God, which does not mean a free pass to commit these sins. The only sin that cannot be forgiven is total rejection of God's grace, also known as blasphemy against the Holy Spirit.

The cause of these sins

Each of the above deadly sins has its roots in the desire for more and the human need for abundance. Every sin is directed against the roots of Christianity, which are:

  • Love to god
  • Love for our fellow human beings
  • Love for our bodies (which they serve as clean temples for God, 1 Corinthians 6: 19-20)

Paul writes in Philippians 4: 11-12: “I have learned to be content under all circumstances”. That goes to the core of each of these deadly sins. Indeed, Paul says that God can take care of our needs and that there is no need to crave or crave over things.

What Heals the 7 Deadly Sins?

The healing for these sins is the gift of a new heart that acts according to the love and law of God. This new heart can only come from God. Eze 36: 26-27 says:

I want to give you a new heart and bring a new spirit into you; I want to take the heart out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put my spirit into you and cause you to walk in my laws, and you will keep my judgments and do them.

The only hope of humanity is the miracle of a newborn heart acting on the direction of the Holy Spirit to walk in God's laws and judgments.

Power does not come of itself to change the heart. On the contrary, this verse clearly indicates that God alone gives you a new heart and causes you to live in His ways. When this event becomes a reality in your life, the seven deadly sins of gluttony, envy, laziness, anger, pride, lust and greed will lose their power in your life. With the indwelling Holy Spirit in your life, you will instead want to live a life that is based on the principles of the Bible.

History of the Seven Deadly Sins

The seven deadly sins were collected for the first time by Pope Gregory I around the year 600. They are pride, greed, lust, anger, anger, envy, envy, and laziness. Gregory also made a list of the Seven Virtues: Faith, Hope, Love, Justice, Wisdom, Moderation, and Strength. The Bible would corroborate all of these terms, but nowhere are they on a list like this, and nowhere in the Bible are they specifically referred to as the seven deadly sins or seven virtues. They date the Ten Commandments, which were written around 1450 BC. BC on Mount Sinai, do not pre-date. It is likely true that they were used extensively to teach principles from God's Word, especially in the centuries before the invention of the printing press, when the Bible was not available for ordinary people to read and study.

Seven deadly sins in the Bible

As mentioned earlier, the list of the seven deadly sins in question does not appear in any Bible verse. However, there is a slightly different set of sins at Proverbs 6: 16-19:

These six things the Lord hates, yes, seven are an abomination to Him:

A proud look
a lying tongue
Hands that shed innocent blood
A heart that makes evil plans
who quickly run into evil
A false witness telling lies
and one who sows dissension among brothers.

In addition, Galatians 5: 19-21 mentions several other sins that we must be wary of:

Now the deeds of the flesh are evident, which are: immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, hostilities, quarrels, disputes, jealousy, outbursts of anger, quarrels, disagreements, factions, envy, drunkenness, revelations and the like ...

Hollywood and Movies

In his second film, director David Fincher has taken up the topic. The thriller starring Brad Pitt and Morgan Freeman is about a serial killer obsessed with the seven deadly sins. The trailer follows:

Many other movies have incorporated one or more of the deadly sins in different versions.