What are the layers in cloud computing

Cloud Computing - SaaS, PaaS, IaaS, Public and Private

Levels of cloud services

The landscape of the existing cloud services is extremely heterogeneous. On the basis of a basic architecture, however, the services can be divided into several levels and categorized. The most common architecture or form of representation is the pyramid shape, in which there are three layers of degrees of abstraction. Here the higher, abstract layers use the services of the lower, more concrete layers for their own services. The different types of clouds can also be classified in this way.

All three levels have in common that the IT services are provided as services ("as a service"). The main layers are bottom up

  • Infrastructure as as Service (Iaas),

  • Platform as a Service (PaaS) and

  • Software as a Service (SaaS)

This division of the services into the three levels "Infrastructure as a Service", "Platform as a Service" and "Software as a Service" has largely become the norm.

The IT services of the basic infrastructure are located on the lowest level - the field of activity for specialists in IT operations. One level above are the services for developer platforms PaaS, which system architects and application developers deal with. The third level comprises software applications that are aimed at users and are provided as standardized services by a service provider.