Can you share iTunes music accounts

Set up Family Sharing & Share apps, music, and other iTunes purchases

You and your family members will likely have separate iTunes accounts for your app and music purchases. However, there is no reason why you should pay for the same apps multiple times.

Apple introduced Family Sharing with iOS 8 last year. IOS 8 Is Here: 10 Reasons To Install Right Now iOS 8 Is Here: 10 Reasons To Install Right Now If you own an iPhone, iPad, or iPod Touch, you'll want to update it to iOS 8 as soon as possible. Here's why. More information The main function allows you to share purchases including apps and music, access a shared family calendar, share your locations and much more.

You can even individually approve or decline purchase requests from younger family members. Fascinated? How to set it up.

What is a family share?

With Apple's family sharing feature, families of up to six people can share purchased apps, books, and songs. Family Sharing works on the iTunes Store, the iOS App Store, and the Mac App Store, so you can share content across all of your devices. The only catch is that your iOS devices must be running at least iOS 8, and your Mac laptops and computers must be running OS X Yosemite (or better yet, upgrade to El Capitan), OS X El Capitan is here! Upgrade for a quieter Mac Experience operating system X El Capitan is here! Upgrade for a Quieter Mac Experience Mac OS X El Capitan is a subtle release: the biggest changes aren't visible - but you'll likely notice them anyway.

With family sharing, you don't have to share your passwords with each other; you have to use one credit card for all devices. You can also approve purchases on your children's devices.

While Family Sharing can technically be expanded to include anyone with an Apple ID, choose who you add to your plan. Everyone who is added will buy their apps, songs, and everything else with the credit card used by the person creating the family sharing plan. Family Sharing may also give other users access to your location and the ability to wipe your devices.

There are also other restrictions to be aware of when setting up Family Sharing. You can only join one family at a time, and you can only change family groups once a year.

How is it set up?

A person known as the organizer needs to set up Family Sharing and then can add up to five additional Apple IDs to the plan. This person is also responsible for making payments for all family members using a single payment card. All you have to do is accept the organizer's invitation on your iOS device.

On an iOS device:

To add users as organizers, go to Settings> iCloud> Set up family sharing. From there, you can add users by entering their Apple IDs or create new Apple accounts for your kids.

On a Mac:

As the organizer, you go to System Settings> iCloud and click on Set up family next to your account information in the field that appears. You can now add members using their Apple IDs or create new members for teenagers.

There are four types of accounts in Family Sharing. The organizer sets up Family Sharing and is the only one who can add new members. New members are added either as adults or as children. The organizer can give other adults parenting or guardian status, which means they can approve purchases on child accounts.

Non-guardian adult accounts can buy whatever they want (this is charged with that single card), but they cannot authorize purchases on child accounts. Finally, child accounts can be created in Family Sharing. With these accounts, all downloads and purchases must be approved by the organizer or other parents and legal guardians.

How to create child accounts

To set up a child account, go to Settings> iCloud> Family> Add Family Member ... and tap instead of an email address Create an Apple ID for a child.

The first thing you need to do is enter the child's birthday. This birthday determines which apps and services they have access to. Parents must agree to their parent's privacy disclosure and then enter the security code on the credit card associated with the Apple account.

You will then enter the child's name and choose an iCloud email address for the account. The email address cannot be changed once the account has been created. Enter an Apple ID password and choose three account verification questions and answers. Account verification emails will be sent to the email address assigned to the organizer. The next step is to determine whether or not you want to approve all purchases on the child's account and whether you want to share your child's location with anyone on the family sharing plan.

Children under the age of 13 cannot be removed from the family approval list. However, you can switch the "Purchase Requests" function on and off.

What can you share?

Most of the purchases can be shared with your family members by simply adding them to your plan.

Apps, books and songs

After you set up family sharing, apps, books, and songs in the family sharing plan are available to other users. This includes items that have already been purchased. To find this content go to Bought IOS or Mac app stores tab.

On your mobile devices or on your desktop, in iTunes or in the Mac App Store, you can filter purchased items by individual member. Not all apps can be shared (as we'll learn later). So if you don't see it on the list, you may have to pay for it again.

You can also keep certain purchases private by hiding individual items. Six members of a family sharing plan can also share an Apple Music subscription.

Calendar and reminders

When Family Sharing is set up, a family calendar and reminder list for all members of the plan are also automatically created. This calendar will appear in the list of iCloud calendars on your iOS devices and the Mac Calendar app. All members can add or edit events in the calendar.

Locations

You can choose to share (or not) your location if Family Sharing is set up. The first time you set up Family Sharing, your location is shared with family members by default. If you want to change this setting, go to Settings> iCloud> Share Location.

From there, you can stop sharing your location entirely, choose which device to use to share your location with, and you can also choose to stop sharing your location with specific family members.

Each person's devices, offline and online, appear in the list. To see someone's location, you need to launch either the Find My Friends or Find My iPhone apps (both free).

You should choose who you have access to as it will give you access to all of Find My iPhone's features, including the ability to enter Lost Mode and wipe your devices.

photos

As with calendars and reminders, a shared photo album is automatically created when you set up Family Sharing. To access this album, launch your Photos app, go to the "Next" tab. There you will find a new album called "Family". You can add and view photos added by others here.

What can you not share?

Unfortunately, in-app purchases are included in Family Sharing's shared articles. Other items that you can't download or get include songs added from outside the iTunes Store, magazine and newspaper subscriptions, items that are no longer available in the App Store, or items that your family members have hidden .

Notice: Not all apps can be used together. If you want to find out before buying or downloading an app, search for the app in the App Store and look for details. There you can see if it's available through Family Sharing or not. MakeUseOf's Own iPhone App Read MakeUseOf on your iPhone with our brand new app and win an iPhone 6s (updated). Read MakeUseOf on your iPhone with our brand new app and win an iPhone 6s (updated). MakeUseOf's iPhone app is here and with it you can browse, chat and save your favorite items from the comfort of a smartphone app. Read more about family sharing, for example.

Sharing is caring

Apple isn't the only company giving family members access to paid features.

With Amazon, you can share Prime's shipping capabilities. 10 Super Amazon Prime Benefits You May Have Overlooked 10 Super Amazon Prime Benefits You May Have Overlooked Free two-day shipping is just the beginning. Here are some notable Amazon Prime benefits that you may have forgotten or never realized. Read More With the LastPass password management app, you can share private data with family members in a "shared vault", provided that one of the users has access to the premium features of the app. Netflix allows two users to stream content at the same time, but if you want to increase that number to four, you'll have to pay $ 11.99 per month, as opposed to the standard $ 7.99 per month.

Do you use family sharing? Would you use it with more than just your immediate family ?? Let us know in the comments.

Learn more about: iPad, iPhone, iTunes Store, OS X El Capitan, OS X Yosemite.