Can you name all European countries


Which states and areas are counted as part of Europe by the various institutions? Here is an overview.

The States of Europe License: cc by-nc-nd / 3.0 / de / (bpb)

The borders of Europe are not rigid, but are constantly subject to change. Accordingly, different interpretations and several definitions of the term "Europe" exist side by side. For example, the European Commission differentiates between the EU member states, candidate countries and other countries in Europe - a total of 50 countries.

At the UN level, the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) names 43 states separately under Europe - in contrast to the European Commission, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia and Turkey are not included in Europe. Kosovo is not recorded separately and Liechtenstein and Monaco are optionally added to Switzerland and France, respectively. The UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UN / DESA) also assigns Cyprus to Western Asia instead of Europe. In contrast, both Turkey and Cyprus are included in Europe in the list of states of the Federal Statistical Office. However, unlike the two UN institutions, the State of Vatican City is missing.

The European Union (EU) has 28 member states. Founded by six countries - Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands - 22 new member states have joined the Union over the years:
  • 1973: Denmark, Ireland and the United Kingdom
  • 1981: Greece
  • 1986: Portugal and Spain
  • 1995: Finland, Austria and Sweden
  • 2004: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, Hungary and Cyprus
  • 2007: Bulgaria and Romania
  • 2013: Croatia
Five countries had the status of EU accession candidates in March 2018: Turkey (since 1999), the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (2005), Montenegro (2010), Serbia (2012) and Albania (2014). Accession negotiations were opened with Turkey in October 2005, with Montenegro in June 2012 and with Serbia in January 2014. Accession negotiations have not yet started with Albania or the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

According to the European Commission, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo are potential candidate countries. The 15 other countries in Europe include Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, the Republic of Moldova, Monaco, Norway, Russia, San Marino, Switzerland, Ukraine and the Vatican City.

Depending on whether Europe is viewed politically, geologically, economically or culturally, there are different delimitations. For example, Greenland is politically part of the Kingdom of Denmark, but geologically it belongs to North America. Finally, the differences can also result from different methodological definitions. In the Statistical Yearbook of the Federal Statistical Office, with regard to territorial delimitation, as a rule, Denmark excluding the Faroe Islands and Greenland, France including the overseas territories, the Netherlands excluding overseas territories, Portugal including the Azores and Madeira, Spain including the Balearic and Canary Islands and including Ceuta and Melilla and, in the case of Cyprus, only the Republic of Cyprus, i.e. the Greek part of the island, is considered.

Both UNCTAD and UN / DESA separately name the Faroe Islands (as part of Denmark) and the colony of Gibraltar (United Kingdom, claimed by Spain) under Europe. The UN / DESA also individually records the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands, which are directly under the English Crown but do not belong to the United Kingdom. The UNCTAD delimits the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands statistically optionally from the United Kingdom - likewise, for example, Liechtenstein from Switzerland or Monaco and the French overseas departments from France.

Data Source

UNCTADstat: Countries, geographic groups hierarchy; UN / DESA, Population Division: World Population Prospects: The 2017 Revision; Federal Statistical Office: List of countries in Europe; European Union:; Federal Foreign Office: List of countries for official use in the Federal Republic of Germany (status: 31.01.2018)

Terms, methodological notes or reading aids

In a UK referendum on June 23, 2016, 51.9 percent voted for the UK to leave the European Union ("Brexit"). On March 29, 2017, the United Kingdom formally notified the European Council of its intention to leave the EU and thus initiated the procedure under Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty. The United Kingdom will remain a member of the EU and with all rights and obligations that derive from it.

More information about the Kosovo get here ...

To the French overseas departments include French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, RĂ©union and Mayotte. See this Country directory for official use in the Federal Republic of Germany.