Where are Excel AutoRecover files stored

You probably already have the button by now "Automatic saving" Discovered in the upper left corner of the Office programs. This is activated when a file is saved on OneDrive, OneDrive for Business or SharePoint Online and automatically saves all changes you make in the file. Because there are always minor mishaps due to the automatic saving, we will clarify in this episode when it can make sense to do this disable automatic saving and how you can get your old file back in case something has been overwritten.

What is autosave available for?

The Automatic saving function is available for Word, PowerPoint and Excel for all Office 365 users as soon as the files are saved on OneDrive, OneDrive for Business or in SharePoint Online. The function is not possible for locally saved files.

What is being saved?

As soon as the "automatic save" function is activated, your changes will be saved in the file. The Saving takes place every few seconds, the exact time interval depends on the extent of the change.

What you absolutely need to know is that the changes are always saved directly in your original documents. It is not possible to later save the file as a copy under a different name using the "Save as" command. Instead of the “Save as” command you will now find “Save a copy”. So if you want to keep your original document and edit the copy, it is best to save it with the directly after opening it Commands "save a copy" and then works in the copy.

Deactivate automatic saving

As you can see, it is sometimes advisable to deactivate the automatic saving in order not to accidentally overwrite original documents or changes that should only be published after completion for everyone who can see the document. Deactivation is done with just a few clicks:

For a file

If you only want to deactivate the automatic saving for a certain file, simply open it and move the slider in the top left to "Off". The program remembers this setting even after closing and reopening it and the function is deactivated for the file until you switch it on again.

For a program

If you always work in a program with files that should not be overwritten, you can also deactivate the function by default for the program, e.g. Word. To do this, open the in Word via File -> Options Settings and select "Save" out. Here you can deselect the checkbox “Automatically save OneDrive and SharePoint Online files to“ Word ”by default”.


As soon as you restart Word, the changes will be applied. It works the same way in PowerPoint or Excel.

If you want to save individual files automatically, you simply have to activate the function using the slider in the respective file.

What to do if the file was accidentally saved and closed?

If you accidentally over-save a file, you don't have to despair - there is still one Version history. It should be noted, however, that new versions of the file are only about every 10 minutes to the version history and not with every automatic save process.

You can view the version history and restore previous versions directly in the respective program via File -> Information.

Or you go to your OneDrive via the browser and select the desired document. Then click on the 3 dots and select "Version history". Now you can open the respective version via the 3 points or restore it directly.

As you can see, the automatic saving is a great thing if you have briefly dealt with the function and know the peculiarities. Do you use the automatic save? I actually have it on often and only deactivate it specifically for certain documents.