Who designed the Dropbox icons

Here's how to permanently delete your Dropbox account and files

Dropbox was one of the first cloud storage services that we all use today. It is known for its high level of security and optimized functions. However, alternatives offer more tools and more data protection. If you've decided to use a different cloud storage service and want to delete your old Dropbox account, read on.

How to disconnect your Dropbox account

If you want to remove Dropbox because the files are taking up too much space on your hard drive, you can stop Syncing Dropbox with your computer. Here's how:

  1. Right-click the Dropbox icon in your computer's system tray.
  2. Select the gear icon and select Settings .
  3. Press Sync and then click the button Selective Sync on PC or Choose folders to sync on Mac.
  4. Uncheck the folders that you don't want to sync with your computer. This will automatically delete them from your device. However, they will still be available online. You can access it by signing in to your Dropbox account.

How to download your files

If you choose to delete your Dropbox, your files will be lost once you delete your account. So download them to your computer beforehand. To do this, just go to your Dropbox folder and copy the files you want to keep to your hard drive. If you don't have a synced folder, or some of the files haven't been synced, do the following:

  1. Sign in to your Dropbox account.
  2. Select all of the files and folders you want to download by placing a check mark next to the selected files or simply selecting all.
  3. Press the download button which is located in the upper right corner under your user icon. It will download all of your files in a zip folder.

How to cancel your Dropbox subscription

It's a good idea to downgrade your subscription to avoid renewal fees. Here's how:

  1. Sign in to your account if you haven't already.
  2. Navigate to the subscription page.
  3. To cancel a Dropbox Premium account, select Dropbox Basic and follow the on-screen instructions. You can continue to take advantage of your premium subscription until it expires.

How to delete your Dropbox account

  1. Sign in to your Dropbox account.
  2. Press the user icon in the upper right corner and select Settings .
  3. Scroll down and find the button account delete in the lower right corner and press on it.
  4. click on Deleting an account
  5. A new page will open asking you to re-enter your password and select the reason for leaving.
  6. Then you have to Delete permanently to press.

And with that you are done.
Note: You can't delete your Dropbox account from the mobile app. This must be done on your computer.