What is 2 5 2 2

Christian Albrechts University in Kiel

Legal basis: § 16 PVO

The grading scale for passed, graded examinations ranges from 1.0 for "very good" to 4.0 for "sufficient":

1 = very good = an excellent performance,

2 = good = a performance that is significantly above the average requirements,

3 = Satisfactory = an achievement that corresponds to the average requirements


4 = Sufficient = a performance which, despite its deficiencies, still meets the requirements.

For a more differentiated assessment, the grades can be increased or decreased by an intermediate value of 0.3, but the grades 0.7, 4.3, 4.7 and 5.3 are excluded.

If the grade is worse than 4.0, a performance is considered “insufficient” (a performance that no longer meets the requirements due to significant deficiencies); the grade 5.0 is used for failed examinations.

In the case of "calculated" grades, further intermediate grades than those increased or decreased by 0.3 are also possible. Calculated grades are made up of two or more partial grades for independent examinations, modules, etc. The (subject) examination regulations specify the ratio of the partial grades to the module, subject or overall grade. Only the first decimal place after the comma is taken into account, all other places are deleted without rounding.

The grade is

up to 1.5 = very good,

from 1.6 to 2.5 = good,

from 2.6 to 3.5 = satisfactory,

from 3.6 to 4.0 = sufficient and

from 4.1 = not sufficient.