How do I remove mentions on Facebook

Delete Facebook post - this is how it works

A thoughtless post or an embarrassing photo - there is some content you just don't want to see in your chronicle on Facebook. Here we show you how you can delete a Facebook post with a few simple clicks.

When scrolling through your own Facebook page, you occasionally discover a post or a photo that you or others have uploaded that is embarrassing or uncomfortable in retrospect. You can read how to delete such a Facebook post or remove it from your timeline in our step-by-step guide.

Delete a single Facebook post

  1. Open your profile in the Facebook app.
  2. Scroll to the post you want to remove.
  3. In the top right, tap the three dots.
  4. Click on Clear and confirm your entry again.

Your shared post or a friend's post in your timeline will now be completely removed from Facebook. Posts in which you have been tagged by others will also appear on your Facebook page. However, you cannot delete these. However, you can hide them in your timeline. To do this, click on the three dots to the right of the post again and choose Hide in the chronicle out. The post will now be removed from your chronicle, but can still appear in the newsfeed, for example. You can also remove the existing mark, but here, too, the contribution is still visible elsewhere. The mention can also be hidden on photos on which you have been tagged by others.

If you have discovered an error in one of your posts, you do not have to delete it immediately. You choose in the menu with the three points Edit Post to easily correct typing errors.

Delete all posts

Facebook does not offer the possibility to delete all posts in your timeline at once. So you only have the option of manually deleting each individual post. However, there is a way to delete multiple posts at the same time.

  1. Open your profile in the Facebook app.
  2. Scroll down to the point Contributions.
  3. Click the gear icon.
  4. All posts in your timeline will now open. Use the gray circle to select individual or all posts.
  5. Tap the trash can icon at the bottom to delete or hide the selected posts. If there are links under the selection that you cannot delete, you can hide them in your timeline using the X symbol.